July 21, 2024


Simply The Best Food

Planet Championship Duck Gumbo Cookoff named finalist for 2021 Arkansas Food Corridor of Fame

3 min read
Globe Championship Duck Gumbo Cookoff 2019 (Image courtesy of Stuttgart Chamber of Commerce)

Minor ROCK, Ark. – Finalists have been announced for the 2021 course of the Arkansas Food Corridor of Fame. The Division of Arkansas Heritage introduced the Arkansas Food items Hall of Fame plan in 2016 to understand Arkansas’ legendary restaurants, proprietors, and foods-themed activities across the point out.

Additional than 2,000 submissions were acquired from all 75 Arkansas counties for the fifth class of the Arkansas Meals Hall of Fame. This was a nearly 40% maximize 12 months-around-12 months. In a calendar year of unknowns, assist for the cafe and food business in the condition is more vital than at any time.

Nominations were being acknowledged from the general public all through the thirty day period of Oct in the subsequent five classes:

  • Arkansas Food items Corridor of Fame
  • Proprietor of the Year
  • Meals-Themed Function
  • People’s Choice
  • Long gone But Not Forgotten 

Winners will be introduced at a digital ceremony on February 22, 2021.

Finalists contain:

Arkansas Meals Corridor of Fame

  • AQ Rooster House of Springdale (Washington County)
  • Colonial Steak House of Pine Bluff (Jefferson County)
  • Dairy King of Portia (Lawrence County)
  • Dixie Pig of Blytheville (Mississippi County)
  • Feltner’s Whatta-Burger of Russellville (Pope County)
  • Herman’s Ribhouse of Fayetteville (Washington County)
  • K Corridor & Sons Create of Very little Rock (Pulaski County)
  • Kream Kastle of Blytheville (Mississippi County)
  • Monte Ne Inn of Rogers (Benton County)
  • Neal’s Café of Springdale (Washington County)
  • The Ohio Club of Scorching Springs (Garland County)
  • Star of India of Minimal Rock (Pulaski County)
  • Trio’s Restaurant of Minor Rock (Pulaski County)

Proprietor of the Year

  • Sami Lal of Minor Rock (Pulaski County)
  • Jamie McAfee of Pine Bluff (Jefferson County)
  • Matt McClure of Bentonville (Benton County)
  • Capi Peck of Very little Rock (Pulaski County)
  • Anthony Valinoti of Incredibly hot Springs (Garland County)

Food stuff-Themed Activities

  • Arkansas Cornbread Festival (Pulaski County)
  • Bradley County Pink Tomato Competition (Bradley County)
  • Magnolia Blossom Competition & Planet Championship Steak Cook-Off (Columbia County)
  • Our Woman of the Lake Catholic Church Yearly Spaghetti Evening meal (Chicot County)
  • Tontitown Grape Festival (Washington County)
  • Globe Championship Duck Gumbo Cookoff (Arkansas County)

Absent But Not Forgotten

  • Browning’s Mexican Grill (Pulaski County)
  • Dairy Hollow Property (Carroll County)
  • Habib’s Café and Delicatessen (Phillips County)
  • Roy Fisher’s Steak Residence (Pulaski County)
  • Uncle John’s (Crittenden County)

The People’s Selection Award has been picked out entirely centered on the number of nominations for a unique cafe, so there are no finalists and the winner will be announced all through the induction ceremony.

“There have been many unknowns for each and every Arkansan in 2020. Celebrating foods men and women and places is a lot more significant than at any time,” said Stacy Hurst, secretary of the Section of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. “We are so happy to honor these special entities as a particular section of Arkansas’s heritage and tradition.”

The public is invited to attend the reception and induction ceremony pretty much on February 22, 2021 in the night. Discover more by going to the Arkansas Heritage Fb web site: https://fb.me/e/3d4QCo3rE. Inquiries can be directed to Andrew Vogler at [email protected] or contacting 501-324-9346. For additional data about the Arkansas Food items Corridor of Fame, pay a visit to ArkFoodHOF.com.

The finalists have been decided on by a specific committee of Arkansans including historians, chefs, foodies and food items authors, such as Paul S. Austin, Jimmy Bryant, Chip Culpepper, Cindy Grisham, Stacy Hurst, Montine McNulty, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Christina Shutt, Donna Uptigrove, David Ware and Stanley Younger.

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.